Last modified: 2022-03-05 by ian macdonald
Keywords: parana | tibagi |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors
image located by Ivan Sache, 9 February 2022
The municipality of Tibagi (20,607 inhabitants in 2020; 296,157 ha) is
located 230 km north-west of Curitiba. The municipality is made of the districts
of Tibagi (seat) and of Caetano Mendes and Alto do Amparo.
Tibagi is named for the sinuous river Tibagi, known in the 18th century as "the marvelous river" or "the true eldorado". Gold, diamond and gems transported by the river attracted all kinds of adventurers; the first permanent settlement established in the region seems to date back to 1782, when Antônio Machado Ribeiro, aka Machadinho ("The Man with the Hatchet"), moved with his family from São Paulo to the Fortaleza estate, owned by his associate José Felix da Silva; subsequently, Machadinho moved again to the banks of the river, on the today's site of the town of Tibagi. Ana Beja, Machadinho's niece, built the chapel that was the center of the emerging town. Law No. 15 promulgated on 6 March 1846 established the parish of Tibagi. The municipality of Tibagi was established by Law No. 302 promulgated on 18 March 1872 and inaugurated on 10 January 1873. Since then, several new municipalities have been established in the Paraná's "New North", which significantly decreased the area of the municipal territory.
The flag of Tibagi is prescribed by Municipal Law No. 275 promulgated on 22 May 1980, which was amended by Municipal Law No. 1,155 promulgated on 9 February 1988.
Inclusion of a soybean and a maize plants, two agricultural resources of the municipality. Change in the date of inauguration of Tibagi, March 18, 1872, (Law 302), as it was celebrated until 1960.
Leis Municipais database
Ivan Sache, 9 February 2022